QAD .NET User Interface Overview > Main Menu Bar > Workspace Menu
  
Workspace Menu
 
Workspace Menu
When you have access to more than one workspace, the Workspace menu lets you choose the one you want to work in. The values that display on the menu are configured in Tools|Manage Workspaces.
A workspace typically represents a domain. However, other QAD applications can have their own workspace types. When you first log in, you must choose a workspace. When you exit the QAD .NET UI, the active workspace is saved and displays when you log in again.
You can change your active workspace by selecting one from the list on the Workspace menu. You can also change your workspace from the Workspace Selector along the bottom of the QAD .NET UI window if the Tools|Options Show Workspace Selector option is True.
When you change workspaces, any programs you have running in the current workspace remain open. You can return to the workspace later to complete any open transactions.
The first time you access a workspace, the system must build the appropriate menu hierarchy for that workspace. This may take a few moments, but only occurs during the initial selection. On subsequent logins, menus are refreshed based on any changes made in the system. This also may cause a brief delay.
The Workspace menu displays only when the logged-in user has access to more than one workspace.
Workspace Activation
With the QAD .NET UI, the active workspace when a user logs in is the workspace that was active during the previous session. However, in QAD Enterprise Applications - Standard Edition, if there was not a previous session or if the last activated workspace is not valid for the new session, then the QAD .NET UI activates the primary workspace (the default domain) for the user as specified in User Maintenance (36.3.1).
If a primary workspace has not been defined for the user, the QAD .NET UI activates the first workspace listed in the Workspaces pull-down menu. By default, the workspaces are listed in alphabetical order, but you can change the order using Tools|Manage Workspaces.
Information about the last active workspace and the ordering of workspaces is set on the client, and the information about the primary (default) workspace is set on the server. Consequently, if a user switches computers, or logs into a different system, the active workspace will depend on the client settings of the new computer or the server setting of the new system.
Note: You can configure the workspace information displayed in the status bar. See Administration Guide: QAD .NET User Interface for details.