QAD .NET User Interface Overview > Navigating the User Interface > Saving Records
  
Saving Records
When you have entered all the data necessary for the screen, click Save or Save and Create.
Note: Save and Create is available only when you are creating a new record from selected screens; when available, it lets you save the current record and then clears all fields so you can create another record.
The system validates the data before saving to the database, and prompts you if you have entered invalid data or have not completed essential fields. The prompt outlines the severity of the problem and provides instructions for resolving it. A red exclamation mark on the screen indicates which fields are affected (see Error Prompt when Saving Data).
Note: On fields that have a Lookup button, if you press Alt+L when your cursor is in the field, the system launches a lookup, which validates the value you entered.

Error Prompt when Saving Data
Click Detail to view details about code that was running when the error occurred, and click Return to access the form again without closing the error prompt. When you have corrected the issues, you can click Close to close the Error Messages screen. However, you can also click Save again without closing the Error Messages screen. In both cases, the data is validated again. The status bar indicates when a record is saved successfully.
If a validation is successful, the data is saved to the database, the screen is cleared, and you can begin creating another record using Save and Create. If you clicked Save after successfully saving, the screen goes to View mode so that you can verify the data. You can select Modify from the Action menu if you want to make additional changes. Depending on your user configuration option, the successfully saved window can be closed automatically.

Record Saved Message
Most actions, such as Save and Create, also have keyboard shortcuts; for example, Control+S for Save and Control+N for Create (New). These shortcuts are listed in the Actions menu.