QAD .NET User Interface Overview > QAD Messaging
  
QAD Messaging
QAD Messaging is a messaging and internal e-mail system within QAD applications. You use Messaging to send messages to other users of the system. When using programs, browses, inquiries, and process maps, the QAD Messaging sidebar is permanently available on the left side of the application area for sending and receiving messages. You can also use Messaging to process program or browse workflow messages, which include links to programs or browses.
Important: QAD Messaging is currently available in QAD .NET UI version 2.9.1 for Standard Edition only.
Note: Workflow is described in more detail in Workflow.

QAD Messaging
QAD Messaging is enabled by default and is displayed as a panel on the left of the main screen. The feature consists of a button toolbar and Folders area.
Messaging Toolbar
The Messaging toolbar features Create Folder, Delete, and Refresh buttons.

Messaging Toolbar
The Create Folder button is available when you select the Folders option, and lets you create separate messages folders in which to organize messages. You can create sub-folders within folders as required.
The Delete button is available when you select any sub-folder, and you use it to delete unwanted folders. You cannot delete the parent Folder, or sub-folders that contain sub-folders of their own.
The Refresh button is available for all messaging features, and refreshes the current view for each messaging folder. The Poller Frequency option in Tools|Options sets the interval in milliseconds after which the system automatically polls the mail server. See Options Menu.
Filter Area
The Filter area is available for all message types, and you can use the Filter drop-down list to filter messages by From, Date, or Subject.

Messaging Filter Area
For example, to filter messages whose subject begins with “Sales,” select the Subject drop-down option and enter Sales in the Filter field.
Note that the filter displays messages whose subject begins with Sales, and not messages whose subject contains Sales. Similarly, the From filter filters on the first character entered in the Filter field. For example, if you enter S in the Filter field, the results display all messages from users whose system name begins with S.
When filtering by date, the filter displays messages whose date begins with the number entered. For example. if you filter by date and enter 1 in the Filter field, the filter displays messages whose date begins with 1, which may include 1/9, 1/19, 10/4, 10/5, 11/6, and 11/7.
Messaging Area
The Messaging area contains icons for the following folders and features:
Inbox
Click to display the inbox of current messages. Similar to standard e-mail, the Inbox folder name indicates the number of unread messages in brackets.
You can open messages in a separate tab by selecting the View option. In the Inbox, right-click on the message title and select View or double-click on the message title. The View button is also included as the first button on the Inbox’s toolbar.
The Inbox screen features an e-mail toolbar, with options to create, move, delete, and print messages, and to reply, reply to all, and to forward selected messages.
The Hide Details button toggles the message details area on the bottom of the screen, and you can choose to view the message list only, or the message list with details of the selected message displayed below.
Drafts
Click to display the Drafts folder. When you click to save an unfinished message, the message is saved to the Drafts folder for future sending. You can edit, forward, move, and delete drafts, and you send a draft by selecting the message and clicking Send.
Deleted
Click to display the folder for deleted messages. Deleted messages are retained in this folder until you select the message and click Delete. The Delete menu options are Restore, Delete, Refresh, and Show Hide Details.
You restore deleted messages by selecting the message, clicking Restore, and then specifying the folder to restore the message to. The number of days for which messages are retained in the Deleted folder is set in the Empty Deleted Folder Frequency option in Tools|Options. Messages are automatically deleted from the folder after this time. See Options Menu.
Alerts
Click to display the folder of QXtend alerts. Alerts are application messages generated by workflow in response to QXtend events. The alerts are delivered to subscribers by standard e-mail or by QAD Messaging, depending on how the subscription was configured.
The Alerts menu options include New, Forward, Move, Delete, Print, Refresh, and Show/Hide Details.
Note: Because alerts are system-generated, the New menu option on this screen lets you create a new message, and not a new alert.
Workflow
Click to display the folder of workflow messages. You create workflow messages in other applications, which are then displayed and processed in QAD Messaging. A workflow message consists of a hyperlink to the application object (for example, a sales order browse) and optional information and instructions.
Folders
Click Folders and then click the Folders icon on the toolbar to create separate messages folders in which to organize messages. You can also use the right-click New Folder option when the main folder or a sub-folder is selected.
To delete a folder and its messages, select the folder name and click the Delete button on the Messaging toolbar, or use the right-click Delete option when the folder is selected. You cannot delete the parent folder.
Creating a New Message
The QAD Messaging interface operates as a standard e-mail function. When creating a new message, you select recipients by clicking the To link to display a list of current system users and groups.

Selecting Email Recipients
You can also enter the three-letter login initials of the recipient directly into the To field of the message header.
The recipient fields (To, Cc, and Bcc) include a “type-ahead” (auto complete) capability, so the system suggests user names based on the first letters you enter. Additionally, you can click on the To, Cc, or Bcc field names to use a menu for selecting recipients. The Select Recipients window lists all the users and allows you to filter the list of users. You can then select the user names for the To, Cc, or Bcc fields.
Moving Messages
Click the Move button to display the existing folders into which you can move the currently selected message:

Messaging Folders
New Messages Prompt
Each folder label (except Drafts) automatically indicates in bold the number of unread messages, and the system also displays a brief prompt to notify you that a new message has been received:

Message Prompt
You display or hide the New Message Prompt depending on the Displays Alerts option in Tools|Options. See Options Menu.